## VIRGINIA D. SMITH CHARITABLE TRUST HAVEN AND VIRGINIA SMITH SCHOLARSHIP GUIDELINES

The Haven and Virginia Smith Scholarships for the graduating high school senior students shall be awarded as follows:

- 1. The scholarships shall be known as the Haven and Virginia Smith Scholarships.
- 2. There will be scholarships awarded each year to graduating seniors from the following high schools located within Nebraska's Third Congressional District: Ainsworth, Alliance, Alma, Anselmo-Merna, Ansley, Arapahoe, Arcadia, Arnold, Arthur County, Banner County, Bayard, Brady, Bridgeport, Broken Bow, Burwell, Callaway, Cambridge, Chadron, Chase County, Creek Valley, Cody-Kilgore, Crawford, Dundy County, Elwood, Eustis-Farnam, Franklin, Garden County, Gering, Gordon, Hay Springs, Hayes Center, Hemingford, Hershey, Hitchcock County, Hyannis, Kimball, Leyton, Litchfield, Loup City, Loup County, Maxwell, Maywood, McCook, McPherson County, Medicine Valley, Minatare, Mitchell, Morrill, Mullen, North Platte, North Platte St. Pats, Ogallala, Ord, Paxton, Perkins County, Potter-Dix, Rock County, S.E.M., Sandhills, Sargent, Scottsbluff, Sidney, Sioux County, South Platte, Southern Valley, Southwest, Stapleton, Sutherland, Thedford, Valentine, Wallace, and Wauneta-Palisade.
- 3. Each school is responsible for selecting the recipients from their high school, for setting up the criteria that each recipient needs to meet, supplying the Application form, if any, to their students, and for setting up their selection committees. The Trustees of the Virginia D. Smith Charitable Trust do not have a say in any way on who is to receive these scholarships.
- 4. The number of scholarships awarded yearly and the dollar amount of the scholarships will be determined by the Trustees of the Virginia Smith Charitable Trust. These scholarships will be awarded to graduating high school students from the above-mentioned high schools as follows: Alliance, Gering, North Platte and Scottsbluff schools will have three (3) scholarship recipients per year. Broken Bow, Chadron, McCook, Ogallala, and Sidney schools will have two (2) scholarship recipients per year. All other schools receive one (1) scholarship recipient per year. In addition, there are at-large scholarships awarded by the Scholarship Coordinator to students from the schools listed above.
- 5. All checks will be made payable to the college, university, community college, or trade school that the recipients will be attending. No funds will be given directly to the recipients.
- 6. All recipients MUST attend a college, university, community college, or trade school located within the State of Nebraska or at the University of Nebraska.
  - 7. The scholarship money can only be used for tuition, fees, and books.

- 8. Alternates will be selected and any funds not used by the original recipients will be awarded to the alternates.
- 9. Notification by each school of their respective recipients and alternates shall be given to the Scholarship Coordinator prior to June 1 of each year.
- 10. The scholarships are not renewable. No amount of the scholarship funds can be carried to another year.
- 11. One-half of each scholarship will be forwarded to the Financial Aid Office or Registrar's office of the school that the student is attending in August of the year following graduation from high school, with the balance of the scholarship money forwarded in December of that same school year.
- 12. The Trustees of the Virginia Smith Charitable Trust reserve the right to change the scholarships awarded to the various schools and the number of at-large scholarships at any time.
- 13. Haven and Virginia Smith wanted to show their appreciation for all of the friendship, support, faith, and love given to them by generations of constituents of future scholarship winners. It was their intent to enrich the area by making it easier, or even by making it possible, for many of our fine young people to further their education with the aid of these scholarships.

Due to Ms. McCarter on April 15, 2024.